graphic masthead of boy and City School District of Alabny logo graphic link to Board of Education pages graphic link to school directory pages
box bullet

HOME

box bullet About Us
box bullet

Academics

box bullet

After-School and Extended-Day Care

box bullet

Albany A-Z

box bullet

Albany Booster Club and School PTAs

box bullet

Albany Fund for Education

box bullet

Alumni

box bullet

Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR)

box bullet Art
box bullet Assurance of Discontinuance
box bullet

Athletics

box bullet Bids/RFPs
box bullet Buildings and Grounds
box bullet

Calendar

box bullet

Dignity for All Students Act

box bullet

Early Childhood

box bullet

Employment

box bullet ENL and Refugee Services
box bullet

Feedback

box bullet Grade Configuration/Middle School Enrollment
box bullet

Grants and Program Development

box bullet

Hall of Fame

box bullet Human Resources
box bullet

Library

box bullet

Music

box bullet

News

box bullet

Parent University

box bullet

Professional Development

box bullet

Programs and Services

box bullet Pupil Personnel Services
box bullet Receivership
box bullet

Search Our Site

box bullet

Strategic Planning: 2020 Vision

box bullet

Student Registration

box bullet Summer School

box bullet

Volunteering

box bullet

Website Accessibility

 

Buildings and Grounds

Brian Dengler

Director of Facilities

33A Essex St.

Albany, NY 12206

475-6160

 

Our work

The City School District of Albany's Operations and Maintenance Department keeps track of:

  • 879 classrooms

  • 21 buildings

  • 2.1 million square feet of building space

  • 6.5 miles of sidewalks

  • 121 acres of lawns, playgrounds, athletic fields and parking lots.

The department also is responsible for cleaning, regular maintenance, snow removal, overseeing all construction and complying with local, state and federal health and safety regulations.

 

The department is made up of head custodians, custodial workers, maintenance workers, labor foremen, cleaners, motor vehicle operators, locker room attendants, laundry workers, secretaries, carpenters, a roofer, a plumber, an electrician, an alarm technician, a turf manager and an energy manager who serve our schools and the district as a whole.

 

Staff at headquarters

Brian Dengler, director of maintenance and operations -- bdengler@albany.k12.ny.us

Tony Redmond, first-shift labor foreman -- tredmond@albany.k12.ny.us

Jim Spooner, second-shift labor foreman -- jspooner@albany.k12.ny.us

Rhonda Crooke and Kathy Futia, support staff -- rcrooke@albany.k12.ny.us or kfutia@albany.k12.ny.us

Phone: 475-6160

Fax: 475-6162

 

Staff in each building

If you have a question or concerns about a school building, playground, athletic field or maintenance issue, please contact the appropriate staff person listed below.

 

Abrookin Career
and Technical Center

Lead Custodian: Raymond Johnson

Phone: 475-6400
E-mail: rjohnson1@albany.k12.ny.us

Delaware Community School
Lead custodian: Tony Lomonoco

Phone: 475-6750
E-mail: alomonoco@albany.k12.ny.us

New Scotland Elementary School
Lead Custodian: Mike Kivlin
Phone:475-6775
E-mail: mkivlin@albany.k12.ny.us 

Stephen and Harriet Myers Middle School
Lead Custodian: Angelo Pacifici
Phone: 475-6425
E-mail: apacifici@albany.k12.ny.us

Albany High School
Lead Custodian: Willie Dobbs
Phone: 475-6200
E-mail: wdobbs@albany.k12.ny.us

Eagle Point Elementary School
Lead Custodian: Prince Allah
Phone: 475-6825
E-mail: pallah@albany.k12.ny.us

North Albany Academy
Lead Custodian: Kevin Clas
Phone: 475-6800
E-mail:kclas@albany.k12.ny.us

Thomas O'Brien Academy of Science and Technology (TOAST)
Lead Custodian: Todd Blackwell
Phone: 475-6875
E-mail: tblackwell@albany.k12.ny.us

Albany School of Humanities (ASH)
Lead Custodian: Fernie Tovar
Phone: 462-7258
E-mail: ftovar@albany.k12.ny.us

Giffen Memorial
Elementary Schoo
l
Lead Custodian: Jim Spooner Jr.
Phone:475-6650
E-mail: jspooner1@albany.k12.ny.us

Philip Schuyler
Achievement Academy

Lead Custodian: Dan Jackson
Phone: 475-6700
E-mail: djackson@albany.k12.ny.us

West Hill Middle School
Lead Custodian: Tracy Spooner
Phone: 475-6601
E-mail: tspooner@albany.k12.ny.us

Alternative Learning Center

Lead Custodian: Mike Wilson
Phone: 475-6525
E-mail: mwilson@albany.k12.ny.us

Harriet Gibbons

Student Services Center
Lead Custodian:
Phone:
E-mail: 

Pine Hills Elementary School
Lead Custodian: Jim Carroll
Phone: 475-6725
E-mail: jcarroll2@albany.k12.ny.us

William S. Hackett
Middle School

Lead Custodian: John Jeffers
Phone: 475-6475
E-mail: jjeffers@albany.k12.ny.us

Arbor Hill Elementary School
Lead Custodian: Rob Schroeder
Phone: 475-6625
E-mail: rschroeder@albany.k12.ny.us

Montessori Magnet School
Lead Custodian: Ken La
Phone: 475-6675
E-mail: kla@albany.k12.ny.us

Sheridan Preparatory Academy
Lead Custodian: Billy McLaughlin
Phone:475-6850
E-mail: bmclaughlin@albany.k12.ny.us

 

 

graphic header for quick links

 

Link to Board of Ed page Link to Directory page Link to Our Schools page