graphic masthead of boy and City School District of Alabny logo graphic link to Board of Education pages graphic link to school directory pages
box bullet

HOME

box bullet About Us
box bullet

Academics

box bullet

After-School and Extended-Day Care

box bullet

Albany A-Z

box bullet

Albany Booster Club and School PTAs

box bullet

Albany Fund for Education

box bullet

Alumni

box bullet

Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR)

box bullet Art
box bullet Assurance of Discontinuance
box bullet

Athletics

box bullet Bids/RFPs
box bullet Buildings and Grounds
box bullet

Calendar

box bullet

Dignity for All Students Act

box bullet

Early Childhood

box bullet

Employment

box bullet ENL and Refugee Services
box bullet

Feedback

box bullet Grade Configuration/Middle School Enrollment
box bullet

Grants and Program Development

box bullet

Hall of Fame

box bullet Human Resources
box bullet

Library

box bullet

Music

box bullet

News

box bullet

Parent University

box bullet

Professional Development

box bullet

Programs and Services

box bullet Pupil Personnel Services
box bullet Receivership
box bullet

Search Our Site

box bullet

Student Registration

box bullet Summer School

box bullet

Volunteering

box bullet

Website Accessibility

 

Dignity for All Students Act

 

Kerri Canzone-Ball, Ed.D.

Director of Pupil Personnel Services

75 Watervliet Ave.

Albany, NY 12206

Phone: 475-6130

Email: kcanzone-ball@albany.k12.ny.us

 

The purpose of the City School District of Albany Dignity for All Students team is to ensure that all students, regardless of gender, national origin, ethnicity, religions, mental or physical abilities, gender identity, weight, height, ethnic group, religious practices, and sexual orientation, are provided an environment free from discrimination, harassment, bullying and fear, in order to come to school safely and without impediment to learning from these courses.

 

All students have a right to be in a school environment where they are treated with respect and dignity. And they are protected by a state law that prohibits discrimination and harassment by other students or adults -- either on school property or at a school event.

 

The law is called the Dignity for All Students Act. It prohibits harassment and discrimination of a student based on his or her:

  • Race (actual or perceived)

  • Color

  • Weight

  • National origin

  • Ethnic group

  • Religion or religious practice

  • Disability

  • Sexual orientation

  • Gender identification

  • Sex

The City School District of Albany takes very seriously complaints harassment and discrimination. Our Code of Conduct outlines expected behaviors and the consequences for bullying, harassment and various forms of discrimination outlined in the Dignity for All Students Act. Click on the highlighted text to learn more about the policy and how it works.

 

In short, the district will swiftly and thoroughly investigate reports of harassment and discrimination. When harassment and discrimination occur, the district will take steps to eliminate the harassment or discrimination and prevent it from happening again.

 

Who to tell if it happens

The law requires that every school have a Dignity Act coordinator who is trained to respond to reports of harassment or discrimination. If you are student who is a victim of  discrimination or harassment or the parent/guardian of a victim, or if you have witnessed discrimination and harassment, please download and complete this form and contact the appropriate people listed below.

 

School

Phone number

Coordinators

E-mail

Abrookin Career and Technical Education Center 475-6400

Lisa Ostermann

lostermann@albany.k12.ny.us
Albany High School 475-6200

Julie Barber

jbarber@albany.k12.ny.us
Albany School of Humanities (ASH) 475-6575

Melissa Keen or Trish Petersen

mkeen@albany.12.ny.us
tpetersen@albany.k12.ny.us

Alternative Learning Center

475-6525

Sophia Newell or Teresa Adalian

 snewell@albany.k12.ny.us

tadalian@albany.k12.ny.us

Arbor Hill Elementary School 475-6625

Jerome Perkins

jperkins@albany.k12.ny.us
Delaware Community School 475-6750

Steve Moguel

smoguel@albany.k12.ny.us
Eagle Point Elementary School 475-6825

Kendra Chaires

kchaires@albany.k12.ny.us
Giffen Memorial Elementary School 475-6650

Derek Johnson or Jasmine Brown

djohnson2@albany.k12.ny.us
jbrown@albany.k12.ny.us
Hackett Middle School 475-6475

Stephon Frost

sfrost@albany.k12.ny.us
Montessori Magnet School 475-6675

Sue Hodom

shodom@albany.k12.ny.us
Myers Middle School 475-6425

Timitra Rose

trose@albany.k12.ny.us
New Scotland Elementary School 475-6775

David Amodeo

damodeo@albany.k12.ny.us
North Albany Academy 475-6800

Susan Goetz

sgoetz@albany.k12.ny.us 
Pine Hills Elementary School 475-6725

John Scott

jscott@albany.k12.ny.us
Schuyler Achievement Academy 475-6700

Tonya Venable

tvenable@albany.k12.ny.us
Sheridan Preparatory Academy 475-6850

Michael Barber

mbarber@albany.k12.ny.us
Thomas O'Brien Academy
of Science and Technology (TOAST)
475-6875

Tina Cascone

tcascone@albany.k12.ny.us

West Hill Middle School

475-6600

Kandie Antonetti

kantonetti@albany.k12.ny.us

 

More resources

 

Link to Board of Ed page Link to Directory page Link to Our Schools page