Student in City School District of Albany using microscope graphic link to Board of Education pages graphic link to school directory pages graphic link to school pages
box bullet


box bullet About Us
box bullet


box bullet

After-School and Extended-Day Care

box bullet

Albany A-Z

box bullet

Albany Booster Club and School PTAs

box bullet

Albany Fund for Education

box bullet


box bullet

Annual Professional Performance Review (APPR)

box bullet Art
box bullet Assurance of Discontinuance
box bullet


box bullet Bids/RFPs
box bullet Buildings and Grounds
box bullet


box bullet

Dignity for All Students Act

box bullet

Early Childhood

box bullet


box bullet ENL and Refugee Services
box bullet


box bullet Grade Configuration/Middle School Enrollment
box bullet

Grants and Program Development

box bullet

Hall of Fame

box bullet Human Resources
box bullet


box bullet


box bullet


box bullet

Parent University

box bullet

Professional Development

box bullet

Programs and Services

box bullet Pupil Personnel Services
box bullet Receivership
box bullet

Search Our Site

box bullet

Student Registration

box bullet Summer School

box bullet


box bullet

Website Accessibility

  Alternate document versions available by request: 518.475.6065
Back to Communications Home

Albany High inducts 78 into National Honor Society

ALBANY, N.Y. (May 3, 2017) -- Seventy-eight high-achieving juniors were inducted into Albany High School's Arista Chapter of the National Honor Society on Tuesday and 24 of those students received class awards.


To be eligible for National Honor Society, students must maintain an overall academic average of 89.5 or higher.


The National Honor Society was founded in 1921 to help create a better-rounded student who would be willing to put his or her talents to work serving others in society. Albany High’s Arista Chapter was formed in 1957 and admitted 15 students in its first group of inductees.


The inductees, listed in alphabetical order, are


Klein Aboki

Cynthia Fowler

Thomas Ottaway

Robert Ackerman

George Granda Franco

Pamela Pantin

Matan Adler

Sophia R. Gaffney

William Phillips

A'sha Aiken

Joshua Garces

Robert  Quaye

Unam Ali

Juliette Geraghty

Mitchell Ringwald

Ivory Anderson

Ryan Ginnan

Alani Christia Roc

Richard Andrews

Davi Ginsburg

LeAsia Royall

Vina Baz

Claire Grande

Alexee Seifert

Logan Bennett

Max Heller

Cynthia Sengabo

John Berry

Peyton Hunt

Alexandra Sipos

Kristina Billings

Regan Hunt

Sarha L. Smith-Moyo

Ian Boldiston

Nicholas Joslin

Mara Strich

Gerael Boulingui

Anna Kennedy

Ashma Thapa

Monica Gail Cabahug

Ken Michael Lee

Cliodhna Thayer

Christopher A. Cedeno

Erika Leonard

Henry Thomas

Reeve Churchill

Erin Lippitt

Tamera Thomas

Emma Colton-Heins

Laura  Jaramillo Marin

Aminata Toumbou

Kathryn Connell

Kacie Melendez

Blaise Umuhuza

Dean Lionel Cotanda

Matthew Milligan

Charles Van Ness

Angelina DeRusso

Gian Carloe Mission

Isabel Washington

David Dimase

Zylia Montes

Bridget Whelan

Ryhan Din

Mudhar Muhi

Immanuel Williams

Taylor Dugan

Maria Nicole Natera

Adam Zak

Gregory Emmons

Gianne Angela Nocus

Harry Zay

Patrizzia Espina

Yverdon Okoren


Travon Fallen

Michael O'Neil


Sofia Fasullo

Elizabeth O'Toole






























And within that group of academic stars, 24 students received 19 awards – some of them more than one! They are:

  • Harvard Book Prize – Max Heller

  • RPI Medal – Claire Grande

  • Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award – Alexandra Sipos

  • George Eastman Young Leaders Award – William Phillips

  • Frederick Douglass & Susan B. Anthony Award – Matan Adler

  • Xerox Award for Innovation & Information Technology –Thomas Ottaway

  • Clarkson Leadership Award – Peyton Hunt

  • Clarkson Achievement Award – Ian Boldiston

  • Wells College 21st Century Leader Award – Erin Lippitt and Mara Strich

  • RIT Computing Medal – Juliette Geraghty and Ken Michael Lee

  • RIT Creativity and Innovation Award – Patrizzia Espina and Yverdon Okoren

  • Student Sage Scholar – Regan Hunt and Laura Marin Jaramillo

  • Smith College – Monica Cabahug

  • St. Michael’s College Book Award – Logan Bennett and Reeve Churchill

  • Elmira Key -- Ryan Ginnan and Elizabeth O’Toole

  • Bay Path College Presidential Book Award – Gianne Nocus

  • Society of Women Engineers – Sofia Fasullo and Juliette Geraghty

  • Bryn Mawr Presidential Book Award – Sofia Fasullo

  • Keuka College George Ball Achievement Award – Pamela Pantin

Congratulations to all!

You also can check out photos from Tuesday's ceremony on Facebook(You don’t need a Facebook account to view the photos. A window may display the text “To see more from Albany City Schools on Facebook, log in or create an account,” but this can be dismissed by clicking "not now.”)  


The mission of the City School District of Albany is to educate and prepare all students for college and career, citizenship and life, in partnership with our diverse community. The district serves more than 9,600 students in 17 elementary, middle and high schools. In addition to neighborhood schools, the district includes several magnet schools and programs, as well as other innovative academic opportunities for students, including four themed academies at Albany High School.

Link to Board of Ed page Link to Directory page Link to Our Schools page